The Foundation for Veterinary Dentistry operates exclusively for charitable, scientific, or educational purposes and was founded to: To educate the public about the importance of oral health in animals. To advance the understanding of the science of veterinary dentistry among all veterinarians. To further the knowledge of the veterinary and related professions through education of veterinarians, veterinary technicians and other health-care professionals interested in veterinary dentistry about effective veterinary oral health care delivery. To provide funding to colleges of veterinary medicine, veterinary technician schools, or other institutions, entities or individuals approved for funding by the Foundation to enhance the education of their students, provide appropriate equipment to facilitate teaching and delivery of effective oral care, and to support research projects in the field of veterinary oral health. HISTORY OF THE FOUNDATION 2005 First meeting at the Forum 2006 Initially a part ofAVDS meeting 9/23/06 Name change AVDSEF to F4VD IRS notification of tax exempt status 2007 Articles of Incorporation 2/12/2007 Representatives appointed from each association NON-ENDOWED FUNDS: General Donations These funds may be distributed as directed by the Trustees for the general benefit of veterinary dentistry education, research, public relations and promotion of the F4VD Make Me Smile Program. Donations can be made to the F4VD Treasurer as directed below: Memorial Scholarship Leaders in Veterinary Dentistry Memorial Scholarship is designated to fund veterinarians and technicians that are tracking to become Diplomats in the AVDC or Fellows in the AVD or AVDT. ​ADVANCED ANIMAL DENTAL CARE BEN COLMERY BOB & CINDY BOYD CHARLIE ADAMS COLIN HARVEY Stainless Crown - $500 to $999 ​BARRINGTON ANIMAL HOSPITAL & DENTISTRY BARRY RATHFON CINDY CHARLIER CURT RICHIE Silver Crown - $1,000 to $1,999 JAMES C. CLARKSON STANLEY W. BLAZEJEWSKI DR. THOULTON SURGEON In-Kind Donors – Auctions JAN BELLOWS BOB & CINDY BOYD BARDEN GREENFIELD VICKIE BYARD CHARLES RAHNGR JR. CHERYL BATER AVDT BROOK NIEMIEC DENTALAIRE-RON ANDERSON SANOS ROB YELLAND KEVIN STEPANUIK PETER EMILY BARRON HALL AVD SUN VALLEY COMPANY UPENN DENTAL DEPARTMENT IM3 SURGIVET HOTLINE ALL PRO- JEFF GOODE VIRBAC- MICHAEL WALSH JOSEPHINE BANYARD MILTEX TARTAR SHIELD VETERINARY TRANSPLANT SHIPP’S DENTAL – JAY HAENERT HEALTHY MOUTH – KAREN MIDMARK JIM MERRITT HOPE SCIENCE VETERINARY INOVADENTDIANE BREED If you would like to donate you may use: PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online! or send a check made out to the F4VD and mailed to the address below: Dr. Erich Rachwitz, Treasurer (At-Large) Treasurer 3905 Twin Creek Drive # 103 Bellevue, NE 68123

Foundation Committees

Make a Difference

If you would like to volunteer for one of the committee's below, please take a moment to contact the committee Chair and express your interest.


  1. Dr. Jan Bellows, Chair (Board Member)

Budget & Finance

DMS Member only Discussion List for this Committee: (f4vd-budget-finance@lists.f4vd.com)

  1. Dr. Curt Coffman, Chair (Treasurer)
  2. Dr. Jan Bellows   (Board Member)
  3. Dr. Rick McFarland (Board Member)
  4. Dr. Tom Cusick
  5. Dr. David Clarke  (Board Member)
  6. Dr. Erich Rachwitz
  7. Mary Berg, RVT, VTS
  8. Dr. Ruth Barthel

DMS Member only Discussion List for this Committee: (f4vd-fund-raising@lists.f4vd.com)

  1. Dr. Richard McFarland, Chair (Board Member)
  2. Dr. Larry Kimberlin
  3. Dr. Scott Linick
  4. Dr. MJ Redman
  5. Dr. Sharon Hoffman
  6. Wendy Myers
  7. Debbie Boone
  8. Jim Merritt
  9. Dr. Erich Rachwitz
  10. Dr. Mary Berg
  11. Ron Anderson
  12. Vickie Byard


DMS Member only Discussion List for this Committee: (f4vd-grants@lists.f4vd.com)

  1. Dr. Jamie Anderson, Co-Chair (Board Member)
  2. Dr. Anson Tsugawa, Co-Chair
  3. Dr. Colin Harvey
  4. Dr. Jason Sokup
  5. Dr. Milinda Lommer
  6. Dr. Jan Bellows   (Board Member)
  7. Dr. Rick McFarland  (Board Member)
  8. Dr. Billy Scott
  9. Dr. Barden Greenfield (Board Member)
  10. Dr. Jack Easley
  11. Dr. Jennifer Rawlinson
  12. Dr. Gary Modrcin
  13. Scholarship (a subcommittee of the Grants Committee)
  14. Dr. Rick McFarland (Board Member)
  15. Dr. Sue McTaggart
  16. Dr. Molly Angel


DMS Member only Discussion List for this Committee: (f4vd-forum@lists.f4vd.com) - Formerly: VDOG4VDF@yahoogroups.com. 

  1. Dr. Barden Greenfield, Chair (Board Member)
  2. Dr. David Clarke, 2017 VDF Program Chair (Board Member)
  3. Dr. Larry Kimberlin (Board Member)
  4. Dr. Jan Bellows   (Board Member)
  5. Dr. Randi Brannan (Board Member)
  6. Dr. Matt Lemmons
  7. Dr. Mike Overend (Board Member)
  8. Dr. Andrew Duke
  9. Dr. Boaz Arzi
  10. Dr. Tom Cusick
  11. Dr. Kris Bannon (Board Member)
  12. Dr. Susan Crowder
  13. Patricia Dominquez, LVT, VTS
  14. Dr. Kevin Stepaniuk
  15. Dr. Rich Meadows
  16. Dr. Steve Holmstrom
  17. Dr. Chris Carter
  18. Dr. Sharon Hoffman


DMS Member only Discussion List for this Committee: (f4vd-education@lists.f4vd.com)

  1. Dr. Bill Gengler, Chair
  2. Dr. Kevin Stepaniuk
  3. Dr. Barden Greenfield (Board Member)
  4. Dr. Jan Bellows   (Board Member)
  5. Dr. Matt Lemmons
  6. Dr. Mike Overend (Board Member)
  7. Dr. Andrew Duke
  8. Dr. Kris Bannon (Board Member)
  9. Dr. Rich Meadows
  10. Dr. Sandy Manfra


DMS Member only Discussion List for this Committee: (f4vd-jvd@lists.f4vd.com)

  1. Dr. Bob Baratt Chair
  2. Dr. Jan Bellows   (Board Member)
  3. Dr. Susan Crowder
  4. Candice Hoemer, CVT, VTS
  5. Dr. Lee Blazejewski
  6. Dr. Scott MacGee
  7. Dr. Sue McTaggart
  8. Dr. John Lewis

Public Relations

DMS Member only Discussion List for this Committee: (f4vd-pr@lists.f4vd.com)

  1. Dr. Scott Linick, Chair
  2. Dr. Curt Coffman (Treasurer)
  3. Dr. Barden Greenfield (Board Member)
  4. Dr. MJ Redman
  5. Dr. Jan Bellows   (Board Member)
  6. Dr. Larry Kimberlin (Board Member)
  7. Dr. Sharon Hoffman
  8. Dr. Stephen Galloway
  9. Dr. Chris Carter


DMS Member only Discussion List for this Committee: (f4vd-outreach@lists.f4vd.com)

  1. Dr. Mike Overend, Chair (Board Member)
  2. Dr. Heidi Lobprise
  3. Dr. Jan Bellows   (Board Member)
  4. Mary Berg, RVT, VTS
  5. Dr. Larry Kimberlin (Board Member)
  6. Dr. Rich Meadows
  7. Dr. Barry Rathfon (Board Member)
  8. Dr. Rod Salter
  9. Dr. Erin D Vicari
  10. Dr. Rick McFarland (Board Member)
  11. Dr. Teresa Jacobson

Make Me Smile Program (a subcommittee of the Outreach Committee)

  1. Dr. Barry Rathfon, Chair (Board Member)
  2. Carol Weldin, RDH, BS
  3. Dr. Jamie Anderson (Board Member)
  4. Dr. Cindy Charlier
  5. Dr. Clarence Sitzman, (Board Member)
  6. Mary Berg, RVT, VTS
  7. Ron Anderson


DMS Member only Discussion List for this Committee: (avdc-nomenclature@lists.avdc.org)

  1. Dr. Alex Reiter, Chair
  2. Dr. Lisa Fink Vice Chair
  3. Dr. Jan Bellows   (Board Member)
  4. Dr. Bob Baratt
  5. Dr. Lee Blazejewski
  6. Dr. Kevin Stepaniuk
  7. Dr. Matt Lemmons
  8. Dr. Jason Soukup
  9. Dr. Maria Soltero-Rivera
  10. Dr. Bill Krug
  11. Dr. Jerome D'Astous
  12. Dr. Jan Schreyer


DMS Member only Discussion List for this Committee: (f4vd-website@lists.f4vd.com)

  1. Dr. Susan Crowder, Chair
  2. Dr. Jan Bellows   (Board Member)
  3. Dr. Barry Rathfon (Board Member)
  4. Dr. Loic Legendre
  5. Dr. Jo Banyard


DMS Member only Discussion List for this Committee: (f4vd-awards@lists.f4vd.com)

  1. Dr. Norman Johnston, Chair 
  2. Dr. Jan Bellows   (Board Member)
  3. Dr. Candice Hoemer
  4. Dr. Paul Mitchell (Board Member)
  5. Dr. Andrea van de Wetering


DMS Member only Discussion List for this Committee: (f4vd-international@lists.f4vd.com)

  1. Dr. Rod Salter, Chair
  2. Dr. Alex Reiter
  3. Dr. Jan Bellows   (Board Member)
  4. Dr. Norman Johnston
  5. Dr. Hanny Retzkin
  6. Dr. Kathy Queck